My sincerest thanks.

August 8, 2010 § 1 Comment

Thank you to Mark Gatiss, Steven Moffat, Martin Freeman and mostly Benedict Cumberbatch for giving me what I’ve been expecting of Holmes in flesh all my life.

The visual was amazing. The costumes showed how men should dress these days even when chasing criminals and fighting masterminds. The direction was brilliant. The photography was like painting.

London was resurrected in front of my eyes as the city I fell in love with and that I’ve always wanted to live, but had forgotten why. It’s poetry.

London is an amazing city and my passion for it first appeared when I read Sir Arthur Conan Doyle stories about the most famous detective of all times, back when I was 11 years-old in a city in south of Brazil.

From there on, I became obsessed with crimes and morbid stories. Mostly, I became obsessed with playing detective and had I followed what I’ve wanted, I’d have gone to become one. Holmes led me through the streets of London and its characters. I dreamed of having a cup of tea between cigars, chatting with Sherlock and John (although they’d probably find me boring) in 221b Baker Street.

I moved to London and despite never forgetting how much I love Holmes, I had forgotten why both are so beautifully connected. Blending the old and the new with the cloudy skies that I love.

Talking of recent adaptations, the Guy Ritchie’s version was an excellent one. I truly loved the visual, the music and the overall product. However, even being always happy to see Robert Downey Jr., I don’t think he captured the character as it should have. The quiet side and the active side of Holmes were not balanced enough, in my opinion. I quite liked Jude Law’s Watson. Specially, how much of a flirt he is, as he should be, reasonably speaking. My greatest complaint about it is regarding Irene Adler and her presence being far too much.

Holmes, as perfectly put in one of the best scenes I’ve seen in a TV show in very long, as he says in the restaurant in the first episode of “Sherlock”, is married to his work and that’s that. Holmes, like Sheldon from Big Bang Theory, has an intellect far to amazing to be wasted on foolish things like love and women. It’s dull.

Now, speaking of the Gatiss and Moffat’s BBC version. Amazing and addictive are the only words I can find at first. Brilliantly adapted, with such great dialogues, comic and dark and sarcastic (as it should be! British sense of humour was reason number 2 to moving to London). The bromance and the banter that you never see much in the books. The perfect transportation of old methods and situations to our time now. Not to mention the superb acting. The choices of narrating the story with the texts on screen and the website are just pure genius. Always wanted to know whether Sherlock Holmes was an iPhone or Blackberry man (it seems like a Blackberry style of phone, as I’d have expected).

I am a huge fan of adaptations. Even if they are not good, to watch my favourite books and comics turn into flesh and real people, is one of my main reasons to have studied Film. As an adaptation, “Sherlock” brought more to the characters and their personalities. Most adaptations only scratch the surface of the product, rare are the ones that bring something new (“Watchmen” did that, I reckon). Their personal relations and cares, that due to time and Conan Doyle’s lack of patience with it, we didn’t get much in the books. Not only that, but we never got a proper Moriarty on screen and god knows, the arch-enemy of all arch-enemies needs one. This one seems pretty promising. And very Irish.

It respects the original material and plays with it. The amount of references to other stories and quotes and everything are just bombarding you all the time and no wonder you have to see it at least twice to catch them all. The tiniest details and the first episode that for those who read “A Study in Scarlet” (and pay attention to detail) would have known from the beginning  who was the killer, since it’s the same. The joke about Rachel and Rache made me smile for days. Looking forward to the new episodes and more references. Although, I’ll probably have to re-read it the books yet again.

In the last instalment (that aired today), with such a great opening scene (always wondered how Sherlock would react to the language these days), the perverse mind of tying bombs to people in order for Holmes to solve crimes under the clock was sheer cruelty and evil mastermind. Every new case was more agonizing than the one before. Which ended up leading to one of the best confrontations ever (I almost believed Watson was him) and exchange of arrogant words, plus the final nod to…well, “The Final Problem”. Consulting criminal. I wish I was as brilliant as whoever created that.

Even though the second episode was further down in quality than the first amazing introduction and the third brilliant script and INCREDIBLE climax, I can’t wait to see another season of this. As mentioned in The Guardian, I wish there wouldn’t be a new series so that this cliff-hanger would stay forever, but at the same time, this was even more exciting than Lost’s first season (for me anyway). I could watch it over and over again had I had the time (did watch the first one 3 times, though).

Bring it on, because Holmes deserves it and so does the audience. It was about time. But please, make Sherlock dress up in costumes a bit more, we all know he loves it.

Ps.: if you missed it and are in the UK, go to the BBC iPlayer on their website and check it out.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to My sincerest thanks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My sincerest thanks. at "He didn't discover the world and it's people, he created them.".

meta

